Pasadena City College, Home of the PCC Lancers

Kenny Loggins


Kenneth Clark Loggins was born on January 7, 1948 in Everett, Washington. The youngest of three boys, he was born seven years to the day after his oldest brother, Robert.

His father, a traveling salesman, moved the family from Washington to Detroit and back again, before settling in Alhambra, California, a suburb of Los Angeles.

Kenny went to Catholic school where he kept a low profile. A shy boy, he sought acceptance through music and sports. His middle brother, Dan, taught him to sing harmonies. Kenny later learned to play guitar. With the encouragement of his high-school principal, he performed in class plays and organized talent shows.

Kenny's career began with his first significant break as a staff writer with a music publisher for $100 a week. In 1970, Kenny met Jim Messina who was impressed with several tunes Kenny wrote for the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. Although Messina initially intended to produce Kenny as a solo artist, the two formed their own band.

Through most of the 70s, Loggins and Messina amassed two platinum and five gold albums, worldwide super stardom, and a distinguished list of classic hits such as "Danny's Song," "Love Song," "Your Mama Don't Dance," "Vahevela," and many more. The pair parted ways in 1976 and it wasn't long before Kenny's star as a solo artist began to rise.

Kenny's first three solo albums, "Celebrate Me Home," "Nightwatch," and "Keep The Fire" all went platinum. In 1980, "What A Fool Believes" which he co-authored with Michael McDonald garnered a Grammy for Song of the Year. The following year "This is It" took the Grammy for Best Pop Vocal. In his 1981 double album 'Alive," Kenny gave fans their first taste of his sensational stage show.

In 1984 he won Japan's International Artists Award and in 1985 his self-produced album "Vox Humana" was certified gold. In that same year "Footloose" was nominated for an Academy Award. His 1991 album, "Leap of Faith," spawned four Top 5 Adult Contemporary singles.

In 1993, Kenny released his first live album in twelve years, "Outside From the Redwoods." A video of the concert aired on PBS. His special, "This Island Earth" was broadcast on the Disney Channel in 1992 and was nominated for three Emmys. It won in the categories of Outstanding Achievement in Writing (Special Class) and Outstanding Original Song for "This Island Earth."

Interior Secretary Bruce Babitt used Kenny's "Conviction Of The Heart" in a live broadcast to Latin American on the global environmental crises. Vice President Al Gore declared the song as the unofficial anthem of the environmental movement.

In April 1993, Kenny joined Paul McCartney, k.d. lang and others in a star-studded Earth Day concert at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles. He performed "Conviction Of The Heart" with a 25-voice choir and a six-piece percussion ensemble.

As the father of four children, Kenny saw the need for a record that didn't "sing down" to children, one that both parents and children could enjoy together. He realized that he might be the one to make such a record when he noticed that his last album, "Leap of Faith," was capturing the attention of young children as well as adults.

"I found more and more parents coming up to me saying 'My six-year-old loves this record and plays it over and over again.' And my sense was that there was something happening in my music that was resonating with children as well as adults. And I think that it was a new level of clarity and sincerity in the music that the children were hearing."

Making "Return To Pooh Corner," which he describes as "music to enjoy children by," has had a profound effect on Kenny. He calls the album "the work of a lifetime" and notes, "in making this record, I've rediscovered simplicity. And I know that the making of this record is going to permeate the next record, even though it won't be a family album."

But that's not to say that Kenny won't be making any more family albums. In describing this record, he's already looking to the future. "Here are the songs that I sing to my children...should I say, Part One?"

"Return To Pooh Corner" was certified gold in 1994 and was nominated for a 1995 Grammy in the Best Children's Album category. It was named one of the best children's albums as part of the National Association of Parenting Publications annual music awards.

In 1997, Kenny recorded the Academy Award nominated "For The First Time" which was featured in the film, "One Fine Day."

His latest album, "The Unimaginable Life," released in July 1997, shares its title with the book he wrote with his wife Julia. In the book they illustrate their personal love story with selections from over 70 personal journals, as well as their letters, lyrics and poetry.

In the warm and intimate style he's known for, Kenny's album is, in a way, yet another breathtaking movie soundtrack. Only this time, the movie is his life.

Loggins and Messina

Loggins and Messina I (1972 - 1974)

  • Kenny Loggins - guitar/harmonica/vocals - b. January 7, 1948, Everett, Washington - formerly with Gator Creek, The Electric Prunes, and Second Helping.
  • Jim Messina - guitar/vocals - b. December 5, 1947, Maywood, California - formerly with Buffalo Springfield and Poco.
  • Jon Clarke - sax/oboe/steel drum
  • Al Garth - sax/recorder/violin/steel drum/vocals - b. Lester A. Garth
  • Larry Sims - bass/vocals
  • Merel Bregante - drums
  • Michael Omartian - keyboards/steel drum/concertina
  • Milt Holland - percussion


  • "Sittin' In" (1972) - Single: "Danny's Song"
  • "Loggins and Messina" (1972) - Singles: "Your Mama Don't Dance", "Thinking of You"
  • "Full Sail" (1973) - Singles: "My Music", "A Love Song"
  • "Sittin' In / Loggins and Messina / Full Sail" (3-CD box set) (1997)
  • "On Stage" (live) (1974)
  • "Mother Lode" (1974)

Al Garth later joins The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.

Loggins and Messina II (1974 - November 1976)

  • Kenny Loggins - guitar/harmonica/vocals
  • Jim Messina - guitar/vocals
  • Jon Clarke - sax
  • Larry Sims - bass/vocals
  • Merel Bregante - drums
  • Don Roberts - sax/clarinet
  • Richard Greene - violin/cello/mandolin - formerly with Sea Train and Muleskinner.
  • Milt Holland - percussion
  • Vince Denham - sax/flute/clarinet


  • "So Fine" (1975)
  • "Native Sons" (1976)
  • "Finale" (live) (1977)

Group disbands.  Kenny Loggins and Jim Messina both pursue solo careers.  Merel Bregante later joins The Nitty Gritty Dirt BandRichard Greene later forms bluegrass band The Grass is Greener.


  • "The Best of Friends" (1976)
  • "Best of Loggins and Messina" (1980)

Gator Creek ( ? - ? )

The Electric Prunes (1968)

Second Helping (1968 - 1969)

Loggins and Messina (1972 - Nov. 1976) (with Jim Messina)

Solo Albums:

  • "Celebrate Me Home" (1977)
  • "Nightwatch" (1978) - Single: "Whenever I Call You Friend"
  • "Keep the Fire" (1979) - Single: "This Is It"
  • "Celebrate Me Home / Nightwatch / Keep the Fire" (box set) (1997)
  • "Alive" (1980)
  • "High Adventure" (1982)
  • "Vox Humana" (1985)
  • "Back to Avalon" (1988)
  • "Leap of Faith" (1991)
  • "Outside: From the Redwoods" (1993)
  • "Return to Pooh Corner" (1994)
  • "The Unimaginable Life" (1997)
  • "December" (1998) - Christmas album


  • "Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow: The Greatest Hits of Kenny Loggins" (1997)

SERVICE ALERT: PCC will be launching an updated version of this website on Tuesday, June 28, and Wednesday, June 29. During that time, you may notice some changes to content, layout, and functionality of the site, and there may be interruptions in service. We appreciate your patience during the launch, and apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.