Pasadena City College, Home of the PCC Lancers

PCC Wide Campus Committees

The Academic Senate shall establish the following Operational Committees for the purpose of performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate:


Function: Responsible to the Senate Board for the evaluation and recommendation of academic change of rank.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Patricia Lynn 5189 Business & Computer Technology R106
Michelle Banks 3148 English C245
Jo Buczko 7110 Student Health SVCS U104
Janis S. Dwyer 7890 Counseling L104
Catrelia Magee 7792 PAC Division C121
James Sy 7812 Natural Sciences U402


Function: This committee was established at the Academic Senate Board meeting on September 8, 1997. Its purpose is to review the Senate’s Constitution and Bylaws and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate Board on additions/deletions/changes that need to be made.Date of last Bylaws revision: December 4, 2000

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: David Uranga     
Gloria Horton 7656 English C247
Patricia Lynn 7031 Business & Comp. Technology R201
Robert E. Mc Lean 7105 Social Sciences C324


Function: To make decisions on matters of equivalency to the minimum standards for hiring of faculty. The duties of the Equivalency shall be to make final determinations of equivalency and to oversee the equivalency procedure as it is conducted across the campus.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Susie Ling 7335 Social Sciences C321
Regina Cooper 7466 EOPS L107
Matt Jordan 7238 VAMS R118
Rebecca Morris 7638 VAMS R118
Keith Oberlander 7482 Mathematics R322
Academic Senate President 7952 Academic Senate C227


Function: To implement actions taken by the Academic Senate board, act on behalf of the Academic Senate during the summer months when the Senate is not in session, transact business, and perform other functions consistent with the intent, purposes, and provisions of the Bylaws and Senate Rules. 

Representative Phone Division Room
Edward Martinez, Vice-President 7952 Academic Senate C227
Dustin Hanvey , Vice-President 3251 English C156
Martha Bonilla , Secretary 7080 English C252t
Daniel Haley 7830 Library LL


Function: To select and recommend to the Academic Senate Board the recipient(s) of the Senate Scholarship Awards.  The Committee shall review and screen all applications to ensure that they meet the criteria outlined in Article 7.3 of the Academic Senate Bylaws, and may, at its discretion, interview all qualified applicants.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Robert E. Mc Lean 7105 Social Sciences C21
Lauren J. Arenson 7736 Social Sciences C321
Jorge Encinas 3128 Mathematics R322
Padma Ganapathi 7141 Natural Sciences U402
Xiaodan Leng 7143 Mathematics C325
Angela McGaharn 7213 Languages C247
Sara Aldas Miranda 7683 Counseling L104
Pat Rose 7214 English C245
Paula Smith 3143 Health Sciences U202


Function: To make decisions concerning Flex Day activities and other staff development functions and directions.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Lynn Wright 3047 English C245
Carol Curtis 7328 Languages C247
Mary-Erin Crook 7837 Languages C247
Karen Carlisi 7153 Languages C247
Susan Bower 7176 Natural Sciences U402
Chiara Thomas Hensley 7892 Counseling L104M
Sung Kim 7737 Social Sciences C321
Jeff Rudisill 7476 PACA C121


Function: To recommend to the Academic Senate Board the procedures for nominating and electing officers; oversee the election, and report the results to the Academic Senate Board for ratification.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Pat Peach 7849 Math R325
Nancy Rutzen 3299 Languages C247


Function: To choose the current Ralph Story Service Award winner(s) from among the nominations. (Committee members must be former recipients of the Ralph Story Award and  be on campus as teaching faculty)

Representative Phone Division Room
Co-Chair: Janis S. Dwyer 7890 Counseling L104
Co-Chair: Michelle Ireland Galman 7407 Social Sciences U321
Lauren Arenson 7736 Social Sciences U321
Russel Di Fiori 7176 Natural Sciences U235
Phyllis Mael 7238 Visual Arts/Media Studies R118
Robert E. Mc Lean 7105 Social Sciences C321
Yoshiko Yamato 7458 Mathematics R325