Pasadena City College, Home of the PCC Lancers

Operational Committees

The Academic Senate shall establish the following Operational Committees for the purpose of performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate:


Function: Responsible to the Senate Board for the evaluation and recommendation of academic change of rank.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair, Saeed Abedzadeh 7274 Engineering IT200
Ali Amouzegar 7316 Engineering IT200
Michelle Banks 3148 English C245
Andrzej Bojarczak 7145 Languages C247
Ahni Dodge 7346 Business R201
Janis Dwyer 7890 Counseling L104
Lori Gagliardi 7542 Health Sciences R508
Boglarka Kis 5388 Performing, Communication Arts CA002



Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Derek Milne 3238 Social Sciences C321
Arineh Arzoumanian 7149 Business, Engineering, Technology IT200
Emily Fernandez 7371 English C245
Anthony Francoso 7576 Social Sciences C321
Krista Goguen 7832 Library Library
Miriam Hartman 7133 Natural Sciences SV6
James Sy 7812 Natural Sciences SV6



Function: To make decisions on matters of equivalency to the minimum standards for hiring of faculty. The duties of the Equivalency Committee shall be to make final determinations of equivalency and to oversee the equivalency procedure as it is conducted across the campus.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Susie Ling 7335 Social Sciences C321
Advisory: Valerie S. Foster 7952 Academic Senate President C227
Regina Cooper 7466 EOPS L107
Michelle Ireland-Galman 7407 Social Sciences C321
Valerie S. Foster 7952 Natural Sciences C227
Tamara Knott-Silva 7786 Kinesiology GM201C
Rebecca Morris 7638 VAMS R118
Keith Oberlander 7482 Mathematics R322


Function: To implement actions taken by the Academic Senate board, act on behalf of the Academic Senate during the summer months when the Senate is not in session, transact business, and perform other functions consistent with the intent, purposes, and provisions of the Bylaws and Senate Rules. 

Representative Phone Division Room
Valerie S. Foster, President 7865 Natural Sciences SV6
Shelagh Rose, Vice-President 7263 Languages C247
Stephanie Fleming, Secretary 3214 Visual, Media and Performing Arts CA102
Jay Cho , Treasurer 3213 Mathematics R322


Function: To select and recommend to the Academic Senate Board the recipient(s) of the Senate Scholarship Awards.  The Committee shall review and screen all applications to ensure that they meet the criteria outlined in Article 7.3 of the Academic Senate Bylaws, and may, at its discretion, interview all qualified applicants.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Xiaodan Leng 7143 Mathematics C325
Debra Bronstein 3249 English C245
Peter Castro 7013 Natural Sciences SV6
Padma Ganapathi 7141 Natural Sciences SV6
Jorge Encinas 3128 Mathematics R322
Susie Ling 7335 Social Sciences C245
Angela McGaharn 7213 Languages C247
Maria Pehlivanova 7663 Languages C247
Charlene Potter 3388 Languages C247
Paula Smith 3143 Health Sciences CECB6


Function: The Academic Senate Faculty Development Committee (FDC) serves as a sub-committee of the Professional Development Committee (PDC), a standing committee of the College Coordinating Council.  In accordance with California Code of Regulations, Section 55724, the FDC  will: (1)  determine the professional development needs of all faculty; (2) recommend to PDC professional development goals and objectives for faculty development in alignment with College goals;  (3)  oversee all professional development activities for faculty, including Professional Learning Day(s), and evaluate for effectiveness;  (4) coordinate its work with the professional development activities of other shared governance groups through the PDC;  (5) regularly report to the Academic Senate and advise it on matters relating to faculty professional development.  The FDC will consult with the bargaining agent when appropriate.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Susan Bower 7167 Natural Sciences SV6
James Aragon 7897 Counseling L104
Lauren Arenson 7736 Social Sciences C321
Natalie Galindo 7577 Performing/Communication Arts CA102
Martha House 7026 Natural Sciences SV6
Tammy Knott Silva 7786 Mathematics R322
Xiaodan Leng 7143 Mathematics R322
Kris Pilon 7308 Engineering IT200
Ken Simon 7818 Library LL


Function: The Mission of the Learning Assessment Committee is to improve student outcomes by supporting teaching and learning through a review of learning outcome assessment activities at the course, program, and general education level. The Committee will serve as a resource to all stakeholders (faculty, staff, managers, and students) and communicate the relevance and results of assessment activities.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Melissa Anderson
7606 Science and Mathematics SV6
Arineh Arzoumanian 7179 BET  
Gia Gambaro Blount 3000 CEC CEC
Walter Butler 7830 Library LL
Carla Christensen 3061 Health Sciences B7
Krista Goguen 7832 Library LL
Gloria Horton 7656 English C245
Susan Hunkins   CEC CEC
Melissa Harman 7490 Science and Math SV7B
Katherine Marsh   Natural Sciences SV6
Barbara Naylor 7215 Visual, Media & Performing Arts CA102
Adrine Reganian 7545 Health Sciences B7
Tracy Sachtjen 3279 Social Sciences C321
Lynell Wiggins 7530 Counseling IT200
Melanie Willhide 7286 Visual, Media & Performing Arts R118


Function: To recommend to the Academic Senate Board the procedures for nominating and electing officers; oversee the election, and report the results to the Academic Senate Board for ratification.

Representative Phone Division Room
Chair: Nancy Rutzen 3299 Languages C247
Rita D'Amico 7478 Languages C247
Russ DiFiori 7176 Natural Sciences SV6
Krista Goguen 7832 Library LL
Charlie Hogue 7455 Mathematics R322


Function: To choose the current Ralph Story Service Award winner(s) from among the nominations. (Committee members must be former recipients of the Ralph Story Award and  be on campus as teaching faculty)

Representative Phone Division Room
Co-Chair: Janis S. Dwyer 7890 Counseling L104
Co-Chair: Michelle Ireland Galman 7407 Social Sciences C321
Lauren Arenson 7736 Social Sciences C321
Eduardo A. Cairo 7745 Social Sciences C321
Yoshiko Yamato 7458 Mathematics R325
Krista Goguen 7832 Library LL
Russell Di Fiori 7176 Natural Sciences SV6
Consultant-Historian Jane Hallinger 7371 English C245
Consultant-Historian Harry Kawahara      


Function: To recommend to the Superintendent/President of the college the names of the faculty members submitting acceptable plans for such leave and therefore eligible for consideration by the District.

Representative Phone Division Room

Chair: ________Open

Charlene Potter 3388 Languages C247
Angela Estada-Ceballos 3121 Mathematics R322
Kaitzer Puglia 7479 Social Sciences C321
Amy Ulmer 7027 English C245
James Arnwine 7198 Visual, Media and Performing Arts C121