Pasadena City College, Home of the PCC Lancers


Lancers Women's Volleyball Coaching Staff

Bill Sanchez
INTERIM HEAD COACH: Bill Sanchez, 15-10, 2nd season in 2014
COACH PHONE: 626-536-4151

Bill Sanchez completed a successful first season of coaching the Lancers in the 2013 season. PCC finished as the second place team in the South Coast Conference with a sparkling 12-2 league record. The team was 15-10 overall and the Cinderalla story of the 2013 Regional Playoffs. The Lancers finished as the state's No. 14-ranked team on the CCCWVCA Top 25.

Led by All-Southern California Region Selection and outside hitter Nora To'omalatai, the 12th-seeded Lancers upset No. 5 seed San Diego Mesa in a surprising first round sweep over the the state's No. 5 ranked team at the time. It was the first time a No. 12 seed beat a No. 5 seed since 1999. PCC then came up a few points short of No. 4 seed Santa Barbara City, losing to the Vaqueros in a hard-fought, 5-set match. The playoff run re-established PCC once again as a dangerous team to face in the postseason.

In the regular season, the Lancers scored victories over No. 13 El Camino, No. 18 Cypress, and No. 19 Bakersfield and battled to five sets before losing to No. 5 Golden West. To'omalatai finished as one of the state's top two hitters in kills as she set a new PCC school record with 414 kills. Her 668 career kills and two-year total of 94 aces makes her the Lancers all-time leader in both stat categories.

To'omalatai joined freshmen middle blockers Angela Banuelos and Kendra Logan on the All-South Coast Conference First Team while setter Tiffany Roesler (converted from outside hitter, led the SCC in assists) and outside hitter Thula Parks were All-SCC Second Team choices.

To'omalatai earned a playing scholarship to Northwestern Oklahoma State and Roesler signed with Albany State in Georgia.

Sanchez is currently also the PCC women's badminton head coach, who directed four consecutive South Coast Conference championships.

He was a long-time girls volleyball coach at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy and was once an All-Metropolitan Conference setter in men's volleyball as a student-athlete at Los Angeles Valley College. Sanchez has worked at PCC since 2008.

For Sanchez's success in women's badminton, click this link

ASSISTANT COACHES: Kari Post, Jerry Checinksi

Sanchez coaching Kari coaching






Assistant Coaches

Kari Post
Kari Post

Kari Post finished her first year as a PCC assistant coach after a season as an assistant at Citrus College.

A 4-year starting setter at West Virginia University, Post previously was a CIF Northern Section MVP at Sutter Union High where she won numerous individual league and division awards. She led SUHS to four league titles and three section championships.

She is the daughter of Thea Post, who spent 20 years as the head coach at the CCC level at Yuba College.

Jerry Checinski
           Jerry Checinski



Playing in the powerful South Coast Conference, the Lancers women's volleyball team each season faces several Top 25 state ranked teams in the likes of El Camino, Cerritos, Mt. San Antonio, and Long Beach City Colleges.

PCC's Hutto-Patterson Gymnasium was the host site of the CCCAA State Championship Tournament in 2008 after also being the host site in 1999 and 2001.

The PCC women's volleyball program has two inductees in the school's Sports Hall of Fame. Former Head Coach and student-athlete Lori Jepsen (1979-2002) entered the Hall in 2002, and All-State Tournament selection
Sarah Goodlaw (1995) entered the prestigious Hall in 2005. Jepsen also was inducted into the CCCWVCA Hall of Fame in 2008.

In 1989-90, middle blocker Cynthia King was an All-Conference player and was class valedectorian.

Pasadena's most successful year in volleyball was the '95 season when the Lancers placed No. 3 at the State Championship Tournament.

Pasadena also placed fifth in the state in 1987 and 1990.

Under head coach Tammy Silva (2007-2012), PCC won its first-ever South Coast Conference title in 2009. Then captured title No. 2 in 2012. Twice, the program reached the Regional Finals in 2010 and 2012.

Silva group
Coach Tammy Silva, '07-12