The Risser Award for Outstanding Support to Education is presented annually to a nominated member of the PCC staff. The award recognizes someone who has given outstanding service and contributions to the College.

Faculty, staff and students have an opportunity to submit nominations for the Risser Award for Outstanding Support to Education. A cash award will be presented by the Risser family to a member of our educational support staff who meets the following criteria:

  • Support to the educational programs at PCC;
  • Quality job performance;
  • Attitude and qualities of character;
  • Service beyond the job requirements;
  • Loyalty to the College and to our Country; and
  • Number of years nominated. (Please note that previous recipients are not eligible.)


Nominees for the Risser Award for Outstanding Support to Education may be members of Pasadena City College’s staff who do not have teaching responsibilities, such as maintenance employees, office personnel, non-teaching counselors, and division deans. The emphasis is on outstanding service and contributions to the College. The Nomination period occurs annually during the Spring Semester.

2023 Award Nominations

Nominations are open now for the Support to Education Award.  Anyone on the PCC Campus (faculty, staff, student) may nominate a non-teaching faculty, classified staff member, or manager for this award.  Click here to access the nomination form.  Nominations are due at 4pm on Friday, March 3, 2023.

Past Risser Award Winners

  • Alice Oliver
  • Leonard Knapp
  • Mary E. McGuire
  • Don Williams
  • Melinda Polo
  • Mary Feric
  • William Weitzel
  • Albert DePonte
  • Lynne Hulsebos
  • Edith Pulley
  • Jane Gouty
  • Lois O’Connor
  • Pearlean Pittman
  • Alvar Kauti
  • Jacqueline Dodds
  • Robert Cody
  • Gary Potts
  • Glenna Watterson
  • Lisa Piez
  • Paula May Dawson
  • Bianca Richards
  • Oscar Chavez
  • Carment Porreca  
  • Beverly Norheim
  • David Hellem
  • Mei Ling Cheng
  • Gail Brodnax
  • Karen Luchsinger
  • Alvin Hollis
  • Linda Mayo
  • Barbara Salmon
  • Jennifer Cooper
  • Darryl Distin
  • Don Eckmann
  • Mathew Camara
  • Carlos “Tito” Altamirano
  • Javier Carbajal-Ramos
  • Carol Calandra
  • Anna Davis
  • Deborah Smith
  • Freya Lin
  • Marilyn Johnson
  • Shelita Gutter
  • Marylynn Aquirre
  • Anne Ostrander