The Risser Outstanding Teacher Award it the highest honor for faculty at PCC. The cash award is presented annually to a nomimated PCC faculty member who has given outstanding service and contributions to the College.

Only currently enrolled Pasadena City College students have an opportunity to nominate PCC faculty members for this award, which is presented annually to a full-time, tenure-track or tenured PCC faculty member. The recipient receives a cash award and their name on the Risser Outstanding Teacher Recognition Plaque.

Recipients are awarded for:

  • Quality of instruction
  • Inspiration to students
  • Fair, understandable evaluation and grading
  • Loyalty to the college and to our country
  • Number of times teach has been nominated (please note that previous recipients are not eligible).


Only currently enrolled students may start the nomination process of a deserving faculty member; fellow students and other college employees may participate in the process by signing the nomination form(s).The Nominations period occurs annually during the Spring Semester.

2023 Award Nominations

Currently enrolled students received an email with the details on February 2nd.  The deadline to nominate a faculty member is Friday, March 3rd at 4pm.  To nominate a faculty member, a currently enrolled student must fill out a Google Form (CLICK HERE) and then recruit as many students as possible to write supporting nominations.  Obviously, quality is better than quantity. 

Students wishing to learn more about the nomination process can attend a workshop on February 16th at 12pm.  CLICK HERE to register for this online event. 

Please check back on this page for more details.

Past Risser Award Winners

  • Dorothy Kolts
  • Roland Sink
  • Norman Juster
  • William Goldmann
  • Marion Pavlovitch
  • Robert Heckman
  • Anthony Georgilas
  • Norman Rittgers
  • V. Ted James
  • Daniel Wong
  • Sam Soghomonian
  • Leonard Franco
  • Carmen Brunol
  • Patrick Brown
  • John Gregory
  • Gerald Lewis
  • Barbara Turner
  • Jean Volckmann
  • Ellen Ligons
  • David Douglass
  • Suzanne Bravender
  • James Riherd
  • Verna Wells
  • Michelle Ireland-Galman
  • Mary Jane Cordon
  • Patricia Staub
  • Patricia Lynn
  • Phil Cornelius
  • Gerald Finn
  • Donald Gallon
  • Betty Oka
  • Stan Kong
  • Richard Wheeler
  • Elvio Angeloni
  • Sandi Iverson
  • Eloy Zarate
  • Carmen Porreca
  • David McCabe
  • Kris Pilon
  • Dootsdeemalachanok Thongthiraj
  • Shane Underwood
  • Robert Randall
  • Peter Riley
  • Jillian Blatti
  • Derek Milne
  • Terri Borman
  • Bryan Gonzalez
  • Anthony Francoso
  • Sandy Lee
  • Christine Loritsch